People

Core Leadership

Stuart Sandin Director  /Pacific Atolls and Coral Reefs Research ssandin@ucsd.edu
Greg Rouse Associate Director / Director Invertebrates Collection grouse@ucsd.edu
Richard Norris Education Director / Climate Change Past and Present Research rnorris@ucsd.edu
Lisa Levin Director Emeritus / Deep Ocean Stewardship llevin@ucsd.edu
Penny Dockry Operations Manager pdockry@ucsd.edu

Leadership Team Steering Committee Members

Octavio Aburto-Oropeza Gulf of California Program maburto@ucsd.edu
Kayla Blincow Ph.D. Student/ Student Representative kblincow@ucsd.edu
Ron Burton Population Genetics evolutionary biology rburton@ucsd.edu
Josh Graff-Zivin Economics & societal decision-making jgraffzivin@ucsd.edu
Richard Carson Natural Resource Economics & Environmental Valuation rcarson@ucsd.edu
Phil Hastings Marine Biodiversity and Conservation phastings@ucsd.edu
Mark Jacobsen Economics of climate change; environmental policy instruments  m3jacobsen@ucsd.edu
David Kline Impacts of CO2 and temperature on coral/ Alumni Representative dkline@ucsd.edu
Sarah Mesnick social and molecular ecology of marine mammals/ Sustainable Local Seafood/ NOAA Fisheries Representative Sarah.Mesnick@noaa.gov
Samantha Murray MAS-MBC Program Director smurray@ucsd.edu
Brice Semmens Coastal California Research bsemmens@ucsd.edu
Jennifer Smith Ocean Acidification Research smithj@ucsd.edu
George Sugihara market mechanisms for marine conservation gsugihara@ucsd.edu
Joel Watson Game theory models of contract settings jwatson@ucsd.edu
Mary Yang Community Representative

Associated Researchers

Alan Sielen Senior Fellow for International Environmental Policy asielen@ucsd.edu
asielen@cox.net
Nick Obradovich Fellow for Human-Environmental Systems nobradovich@gmail.com
Nadia Rubio Fellow for Coastal Ecosystem Services rubio.nadiat@gmail.com
Michael Tillman Research Associate – Marine Mammals mftillman@mac.com

Visiting Scholars

Sara McDonald
July 2017-July 2018
Monterey Bay Aquarium,  Seafood Watch Program slmcdonald@ucsd.edu
Lyall Bellquist
Sept 2017 – August 2018
The Nature Conservancy, fisheries management & policy lbellqui@ucsd.edu

Faculty & Researchers

Name Research Interest/Lab link Office contact
Allen, Andrew Microbiology & genomics 2256 Sverdrup Hall 858-534-3544
Andersson, Andreas Marine CO2 & carbonate geochemistry
Andersson Research Facebook
444 Vaughan Hall
858-822-2486
Azam, Farooq Microbial Oceanography 4105 Hubbs Hall
858-534-6850
Ballance, Lisa Cetaceans and seabirds SWFSC
858-546-7173
Barlow, Jay Marine Mammal Acoustics SWFSC
858-546-7178
Baumann-Pickering, Simone Behavioral acoustic ecology Ritter Hall 200F
858-534-7280
Bowman, Jeff Marine Microbiology Sverdrup Hall 1145
858-246-1687
Braswell, Geoffrey Anthropology – society political & economic systems; Mesoamerican Archaeology 284 Soc Sci Bldg
858-822-0726
Callender, Craig Philosophy & Ethics 8077 H & SS Bldg.
858-822-4911
Cartamil, Dan Shark Research Consortium  dcartamil@ucsd.edu
Cartwright, Lisa Communications in health & medicine, media & film studies 359 Visual Arts Facility
858-822-2695
Cayan, Dan Global-regional climate & hydrologic changes 201 B Nierenberg Hall
858-534-4507
Charles, Chris Paleooceanography/climatology 858-534-5911
Checkley, David Ecology of zooplankton 2220 Sverdrup Hall
858-534-4228
Cheng, Lana
(Emeritus)
Marine insects 3105 Hubbs Hall
858-534-4836
Csordas Thomas Anthropology SSB272
Cornuelle, Bruce Ocean circulation, acoustic remote sensing 411 Nierenberg Hall
858-534-4021
Cowhey, Peter International Political economy & biological threats 4201RBC-
858-534-1946
Dayton, Paul
(Emeritus)
Marine conservation & policy; ecology 332 Ritter Hall
858-534-6740
Davis, Zeinabu Irene Communication & filmmaking 858-534-6328
Deheyn, Dimitri Marine Biology and Biotechnology  1130 Hubbs Hall 858-822-5303
Driscoll, Neal Sea-level fluctuations, geoscience 300 F Ritter Hall
858-822-5026
Dutton, Peter Marine Turtle Genetics NOAA SWFSC
858-546-5636
Eddebbar, Yassir International Climate science MESOM/SIO 367
858-534-6207
Erie, Steven Public Policy, minority politics SSB360
858-534-3083
Evans, Ivan Sociology of the Environment SSB 489
858-534-2614
Evans, John Sociology of Culture, Bioethics SSB 401
858-534-2779
Flick, Ron Instrumentation and innovation Eckart Bldg 144
858-534-3234
Franks, Peter Phytoplankton ecology 2119 Sverdrup
858-534-7528
Gee, Jeff geomagnetic field variations 300D Ritter Hall
858-534-4707
Gerrodette, Tim Cetacean assessment, management & conservation NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7131
Gibson, Clark Environmental politics SSB 386
858-822-5140
Giddings, Sarah Estuarine/coastal ocean interactions MESOM 363
858-534-5103
Gneezy, Ayelet Conservation and Human Behavioral Science; Corporate responsibility 3S154 Otterson Hall
858-534-4131
Goldfarb, Brian Media, technology and communication 241 Media Center  858-822-2239
Graff-Zivin, Josh Economics & societal decision-making RBC 1313
858-822-6438
Groves, Ted (Emeritus) Environmental & Resource Economics ECON 321
619-886-5056
Hamdoun, Amro Environment and Human Health 3150 Hubbs Hall
858-822-5839
Hechinger, Ryan Parasites in the ecosystem 2139 Sverdrup Hall
858-822-3788
Hewitt,Roger acoustics surveys of whales, seals, penguins and seabirds  NOAA SWFSC Director’s Office
858-546-5602
Hildebrand, John Noise impacts on marine mammal & population census w/acoustics  200E Ritter Hall
858-534-4069
Iacobellis, Sam air-sea interactions & climate modeling 204 Nierenberg Hall
858-534-3126
Jensen, Paul microbiology 201B Ritter Hall
858-534-7322
Kay, Isabelle Academic Coordinator Natural Reserve System
Keeling, Ralph global climate cycle; paleoclimate 312 Vaughan Hall
858-534-7582
Kennel, Charlie Global environmental science, intersection of science and policy 338 Nierenberg Hall
858-822-6524
Kousser, Thad Political science 369 SSB
858-854-3239
Koslow, (Tony) Julian Deep-sea conservation, seamount ecology 858-534-7284
Krishnan, Vish New product development & process innovation 3S144 Otterson Hall
858-822-1991
Lake, David International Relations & Political Economy 372 Soc Sci Bldg
858-534-0347
Leichter, James Ecology & oceanography of coastal systems 328 Ritter Hall
858-822-5330
Lidstrom, Susanna Visiting Postdoctoral Researcher in Literature and the environment
McCord, Gordon Economic development & environment RBC/Robinson Bldg.
858-534-0590
McCullough, Sarah Center for Humanities 307 Literature Bldg.
858-822-0131
McIntosh, Craig development economics – program evaluation & policy impacts 1305 RBC/Robinson Bldg. 858-822-1125
Mesnick, Sarah social and molecular ecology of marine mammals NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7148
Mitchell, Greg Center for algal biotechnology 2240 Sverdrup
858-534-2687
Morin, Phil marine mammal genetics & conservation NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7165
Ohman, Mark curator – pelagic invertebrate collection
Long-Term Ecological Research in the California Current (LTER)
2153 Sverdrup
858-534-2754
Peach, Cheryl new initiatives in education and outreach Birch Aquarium
858-822-5323
Pedersen, David sociocultural anthropology 858-534-6890
Perrin, William systematics and ecology of cetaceans NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7096
Rivera-Collazo, Isabelle Anthropology – coastal human population adaptation to climate change 1220 Sverdrup Hall
858- 822-4717
Send, Uwe Ocean-climate interactions, CO2 uptake 446 Nierenberg
858-822-6710
Severinghaus, Jeff pleistocene global carbon cycle – ice cores 858-822-2483
Schoeninger, Margaret Behavior and ecological reconstruction 858-822-1890
Schkade, David Decision making, public policy, environment, and law 858-822-5933
Shurin, Jonathan Community and ecosystem ecology in aquatic environments 4258 Biology Bldg 858-534-0705
Squires, Dale natural resource, environmental, and fisheries economics, productivity, regulation NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7113
Stocks, Karen marine biogeography, seamount ecology 317 Ritter Hall
858-534-1898
Taylor, Barbara recovery factors for endangered marine mammals NOAA SWFSC
858-546-5620
Taylor, Jennifer Environmental adaptations and evolution of crustacean exoskeleton 4120 Hubbs Hall
858-822-4712
Tresguerres, Martin aquaculture, biofuels & evolution
https://www.facebook.com/3guerreslab
3135 Hubbs Hall
858-534-5895
Vacquier, Vic
Emeritus
fertilization in marine invertebrates 3165 Hubbs Hall
858-534-4803
Vetter, Russ fish genetics and aquaculture NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7125
Willenbring, Jane how landscapes are affected by tectonics, climate change, and life 210 Vaughan Hall
858-534-0717
Zmarzly, Debbie Birch Aquarium Birch Aquarium 858-534-4087