Contact Us

Scripps Department Office

 

Scripps Department Office

The Scripps Department Office is located in the Old Scripps Building, Room 22
Office hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00am -12:00pm and 1:00pm - 4:30pm

Mailing address:
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, Mail Code 0208
La Jolla, CA 92093-0208

If you are using a secondary courier (UPS or FedEx deliveries):
Old Scripps Building, Room 22
8630 Kennel Way
La Jolla, CA 92037

If you are looking for Scripps using an internet mapping guide:
8630 Discovery Way
La Jolla, CA 92037

back to top


Graduate Program


For general graduate program questions and admissions information, please contact the department by phone at 858-534-1694, or by email at siodept@sio.ucsd.edu.

 

Graduate Program Contacts

Denise Darling, Department Manager
858-534-4794, ddarling@ucsd.edu

Gilbert Bretado, Graduate Coordinator
858-534-1694, gbretado@ucsd.edu
Admissions, Ph.D. advising, doctoral committees, advancement to candidacy and defenses, orientation, recruitment and outreach, diversity coordinator

Adam Petersen, Graduate Coordinator
858-534-3206, apetersen@ucsd.edu
Master's advising, Open House, grades, enrollment, petitions, verification letters, teaching assistantships, financial aid coordination

Gayle Aruta, Graduate Student Financial Support
858-534-1695, garuta@ucsd.edu
Graduate student financial support: fellowships, scholarships, traineeships, employment, financial planning, financial aid coordination and advising; staff personnel for the SIO Department Office

Maureen McGreevy, Financial Affairs
858-534-3207, mpmcgreevy@ucsd.edu
Financial administrator: student travel and seminar reimbursement, purchase orders, faculty start-up funds

 

back to top


Department Chair and Program Directors

Dr. Lisa Tauxe, Chair and Deputy Director - Education
858-534-6084, ltauxe@ucsd.edu

Dr. Doug Bartlett, Program Director, Scripps Department
858-534-5233, dbartlett@ucsd.edu

Dr. Jeff Severinghaus, Program Director, Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)
858-822-2483, jseveringhaus@ucsd.edu

Dr. Neal Driscoll, Program Director, Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)
858-822-5026, ndriscoll@ucsd.edu

Dr. Brian Palenik, Program Director, Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)
858-534-7505, bpalenik@ucsd.edu

back to top


Scripps Ombuds Contacts

Dr. Peter Franks, Ombudsperson
858-534-7528, pjfranks@ucsd.edu

Dr. Lynne Talley, Ombudsperson
858-534-6610, ltalley@ucsd.edu

back to top


Graduate Admissions Chairs

Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)

Applied Ocean Science - Dr. Dariusz Stramski
858-534-3353, dstramski@ucsd.edu

Climate Sciences - Dr. Shang-Ping Xie
858-822-0053, sxie@ucsd.edu

Physical Oceanography - Dr. Sarah Gille
858-822-4425, sgille@ucsd.edu

Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)

Geophysics - Dr. Adrian Borsa and Dr. Kerry Key
858-534-6895, aborsa@ucsd.edu and 858-822-2975, kkey@ucsd.edu

Geosciences - Dr. Richard Norris
858-822-1868, rnorris@ucsd.edu

Marine Chemistry and Geochemistry - Dr. Andrew Dickson
858-822-2990, adickson@ucsd.edu

Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)

Biological Oceanography - Dr. John Hildebrand and Dr. James Leichter
858-534-4069, jahildebrand@ucsd.edu and 858-822-5330, jleichter@ucsd.edu

Marine Biology - Dr. Terry Gaasterland
858-822-4600, tgaasterland@ucsd.edu

back to top


Undergraduate Program


For general program questions, please contact the Undergraduate office at 858-822-4604.  The Undergraduate Office is located on the Revelle College campus at UC San Diego, in Galbraith Hall (mail code 0328).  For information on admissions, please visit UC San Diego Admissions.

 

Undergraduate Program Contacts

Please note that all academic advising questions (for current students) are now handled via the Virtual Advisor.

 

Dr. Neal Driscoll, Director of Earth Science Majors
858-822-5026, ndriscoll@ucsd.edu

Dr. Jane Teranes, Associate Director and Lecturer
858-534-5386, jteranes@ucsd.edu
Student advising, oversees directed research efforts for undergraduates, directs the internship program, also teaches an undergraduate seminar, SIO 90: Perspectives on Ocean Sciences

Josh Reeves, Administrative Director
858-534-8157, jdreeves@ucsd.edu
Program administration and student services, teaching assistantships

Sidney Eads, Student Affairs Officer
858-822-4604, sleads@ucsd.edu
Student services and assisting in program administration, maintains student records, administrative support for courses, and student advising

back to top