Events List

Date & Time Description Event Calendar
Wed, 09/18/2019 - 5:30pm

SOLD OUT -- 10,000 Maniacs LIVE at Birch Aquarium
Birch Aquarium's Green Flash Concert Series is back! Don’t miss the epic summer concert series that combines live music with panoramic... Birch Aquarium Special Events
Thu, 09/19/2019 - 10:00am to 1:00pm

Meet with NCI
The NCI continues to develop new funding opportunities that adapt to changes in the way that science is conducted. Supporting the best... Innovation & Career Events
Thu, 09/19/2019 - 4:00pm

AOS Seminar:
Please join us for the following AOS Seminar Thursday,  September 19 at 4:00pm in Spiess Hall 330: Speaker:  Title: Applied Ocean Science
Fri, 09/20/2019 - 8:30am to 9:30am

Scaling your business to grow profits
As the saying goes, you need to “strike when the iron is hot”. Scaling a business effectively requires a well thought out plan that aligns... Innovation & Career Events
Tue, 09/24/2019 - 8:00am to 9:30am

Science, Startup, Repeat
What would you ask an entrepreneur who’s led multiple biotechs from founding to multi-million dollar exits? Enjoy your morning coffee while... Innovation & Career Events
Wed, 09/25/2019 - 10:00am

Toddler Time: Little Aquarium Artists at Birch Aquarium
Our popular toddler series is back! From storytime and live music, to art activities or animal interactions, Toddler Time is a fun and... Birch Aquarium Special Events
Wed, 09/25/2019 - 3:30pm to 7:00pm

Meet with BARDA
The Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA), a unique part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ... Innovation & Career Events
Thu, 09/26/2019 - 9:00am

Dissertation Defense: Angel Ruacho
Thursday, September 26, 2019 DOCTORAL DISSERTATION DEFENSE Angel Ruacho will defend his doctoral dissertation entitled, “Characterization... Thesis Defenses
Fri, 09/27/2019 - 9:00am to 11:00am

Entrepreneurship Certificate Course
ENTREPRENEURSHIP for all MAJORSEntrepreneurship Certificate Program Fall 2019 Helping you prepare for 21st century jobs, UC San Diego... Innovation & Career Events
Fri, 09/27/2019 - 3:00pm

Dissertation Defense: Travis Courtney
Friday, September 27, 2019 DOCTORAL DISSERTATION DEFENSE Travis Courtney will defend his doctoral dissertation entitled, “Quantifying the... Thesis Defenses
Mon, 09/30/2019 - 1:00pm

GS/MCG Seminar: Julia Diaz
Please join us for the first GS/MCG seminar of the fall quarter, held at Hubbs 4500 from 1-2pm. Julia Diaz, who just joined SIO over the... Seminars, Geoscience/Marine Chemistry & Geochemistry Seminar
Tue, 10/01/2019 - 10:00am

Thesis Defense: Jessica Sportelli
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 MASTERS THESIS DEFENSE Jessica Sportelli will defend her master’s thesis entitled, "Killer whale (Orcinus orca)... Thesis Defenses
Wed, 10/02/2019 - 3:30pm

CASPO Seminar:
Weekly CASPO Seminar: Join us in Nierenberg 101 every Wednesday at 3:30 pm to hear about the latest and greatest in Climate, Atmospheric... CASPO
Repeats every month on March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December on the first Friday until Fri Dec 06 2019 .
Fri, 03/01/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 04/05/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 05/03/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 06/07/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 07/05/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 08/02/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 09/06/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 10/04/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 11/01/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch,
Fri, 12/06/2019 - 12:00pm to 1:30pm

Junior Faculty Lunch
Faculty and researchers at SIO who self-identify as "Junior" are invited to lunch from 12-1:30.   Scripps Only
Mon, 10/07/2019 - 1:00pm

GS/MCG Seminar: Nicolas Barth
Please join us for a talk from UCR's Nicolas Barth titled "Someone Else's Fault!". The abstract is as follows: "New Zealand’s Alpine Fault... Seminars, Geoscience/Marine Chemistry & Geochemistry Seminar