2016 Revelle Medal awarded by UCSD

2016, Science Advisor, the Holy See delegation to the climate summit: COP-22 at Marrakech

National Council for Science and the Environment Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, 2016

Received the Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Climate Change from the BBVA foundation, 2016

Science Advisor; Holy See Delegation to UNFCC COP-21 Summit at Paris, 2015

Listed as Foreign Policy Magazine’s Top 100 Global Thinkers of 2014

Received the Asian Heritage Award for Science and Technology, Video, 2014

2013 Champion of the Earth Laureate for the Science and Innovation category, by the Head of the United Nations Environment Program, 2013

One of eight included in the European Commission Book “Air & Climate Conversations about Molecules and Planets with Humans in Between” that honored 6 atmospheric scientists including Paul Crutzen, Mario Molina, Schellnhuber and Sir John Houghton, 2012

Appointed to the Council of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences by Pope Benedict, 2012

Elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, 2011

Commencement Speech, University of California, San Diego Sixth College, June 13, 2009

Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement with co-recipient Dr. Richard Alley, February 2009.

Zayed Prize for scientific and technological achievements in environment with co-recipient Prof. Jane Lubchenco, June 2008

8th Annual Henry W. Kendall Memorial Lecture, MIT, May 2, 2008.

Global and Regional Climate Change: Underlying Science and Emerging Riddles. Video

Cozzarelli Paper of the Year Prize. The National Academy of Sciences, 2007 SIO News Release

Bjerknes Lecture, American Geophysical Union, Global Dimming and Its Masking Effect on Global Warming, 2006

Elected to American Philosophical Society, 2006

Appointed member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences by Pope John Paul II, 2004
SIO News Release

Johannes Gutenberg Lecturer, 2004

Pioneer Award, the National Science Foundation, October 2003
“In recognition of your vision, leadership, and entrepreneurial spirit in pioneering the Science and Technology Center concept.”

Fellow, Indian Meteorological Society, October 2003

Alexander M. Cruickshank Lecturer, 2003

The Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal, American Meteorological Society, 2002
The highest award given by AMS
“for fundamental insights into the radiative roles of clouds, aerosols and key gases in the earths climate system.”

Elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, 2002

W. S. Jardetzky Lecturer, Lamont Doherty Observatory, Columbia University, 2000

Elected to Stonybrook 40; Among Stony Brook’s Finest Philosophers, Financiers, Administartors, Inventors, Jurists, Philanthropists……
State University of Stony Brook, 1998

Volvo Environment Prize, 1997 (shared with S. Manabe).
“for pioneering work over several decades has helped us to understand one of the critical aspects of human activity”
Volvo Announcement

Foreign Member, Academia Europaea, 1996

Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1995

Buys Ballot Medal, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences, 1995
One of the oldest prizes by the academy established in 1887 and given once every ten years.
“for outstanding scientific work in the science of the atmosphere over the last decade or two”

Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement, NASA, 1989

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Fellow, American Meteorological Society

Fellow, American Geophysical Union

Distinguished Alumnus Award, SUNY, Stony Brook, 1984

Outstanding Publication Award, NCAR, 1981

Special Achievement Award, NASA, 1975

scripps oceanography uc san diego