Scripps Administration

Scripps Administration

Scripps Administration oversees operations and administrative support for research and academic programs for all areas of Scripps Oceanography.  Areas of support include administrative computing; business and finance; capital planning and space management; communications; contracts and grants; diving program; facilities management; human resources; operations and safety; and web operations.

Doug Bennett

Assistant Vice Chancellor - Marine Sciences
Director of Finance and Operations

Phone: (858) 534-2831
Email: dbennett@ucsd.edu
 

Scripps Administration Office

Terry Raitt

Executive Assistant to the Assistant Vice Chancellor

Phone: (858) 534-2831
Email: traitt@ucsd.edu
 

Cliff Lindsay

Administrative Assistant

Phone: (858) 534-2830
Email: cglindsay@ucsd.edu
 

Business and Finance
VCMS Business Office

Overall responsibility for tracking and projecting the financial resources available to the Vice Chancellor, Marine Sciences (VCMS), as well as providing institution-wide reports, analyses, surveys, and documenting policies and memorandums of understanding for new processes impacting Scripps Oceanography's finances and personnel operations.  In addition, oversees the financial administration of the SIO Director’s Office and serves as the financial resource for all Scripps Oceanography units/divisions.

Susie Pike Humphrey

Director, Budget and Finance

Phone: (858) 534-8655
Email: spike@ucsd.edu

Sylvia Lockhart

Senior Administrative Analyst

Phone: (858) 534-7238
Email: slockhart@ucsd.edu

Suzanne Sprague

Administrative Specialist

Phone: (858) 534-1117
Email: ssprague@ucsd.edu

Michelle Tellez

Administrative Specialist

Phone: (858) 534-6427
Email: mvtellez@ucsd.edu

Operations and Facilities

Institution-wide operations and management, planning and policy development, facilities, departmental safety and regulatory compliance.

Ken Hall

Director of Operations

Phone: (858) 822-1312
Email: khall@ucsd.edu
 

Capital Planning and Space Management

Responsible for the planning, coordination and execution of capital projects, from new buildings to major renovations of existing buildings to deferred maintenance. In addition to capital projects, we work with individual Scripps scientists to plan renovations to accommodate their research needs.

Space assignments and requests for space are managed in a fair and equitable manner, relative to Scripps Space Policy, in consultation with section heads, division chairs, business officers and individual staff.

Cammie Ingram

Director, Capital Planning and Space Management

Phone: (858) 534-2837
Email: cingram@ucsd.edu

Bic Pham-Le Cory

Assistant Director, Capital Planning and Space Management

Phone: (858) 822-7562
Email: bic@ucsd.edu
 

Facilities Management

UC San Diego Facilities Management is responsible for the routine maintenance of campus buildings and grounds. The staff in SIO Facilities Management serve as liaisons to UC San Diego Facilities Management (FM), Environment, Health and Safety (EH&S), and Facilities, Design and Construction (FD&C). SIO Facilities also provides project oversight, as well as lends design and construction expertise to campus building renovations.

Non-urgent service: 
Online Work Request
Urgent Service: (858) 534-2930


For a full list of services provided by UC San Diego Facilities Management visit: Facilities Management

Bill Shull

Facilities Manager

Phone: (858) 534-2730
Email: bshull@ucsd.edu

Gary Wellwood

Facilities Assistant

Phone: (858) 692-6419
Email: gwellwood@ucsd.edu
 

Office of Contract and Grant Administration

The SIO Office of Contract and Grant Administration (SIO OCGA) serves as administrative liaison for activities related to SIO research contracts and grants funded by federal, state, and private agencies. SIO OCGA is a service department with its primary goal to help SIO principal investigators identify and obtain funding for their research. The SIO OCGA staff reviews each proposal and budget for compliance with agency guidelines and University policy; tracks the status of proposals and responds to agency pre-award audits; accepts, negotiates and signs contracts and grants on behalf of the University; processes post-award actions; and ensures compliance with reporting requirements.

SIO OCCA works closely with the UCSD Office of Post-award Financial Services (OPAFS) on award accounting and payment issues, and the UCSD Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property Services office regarding intellectual property matters. SIO OCGA represents SIO on various campus research administration committees taking part in policy decisions and process development representing SIO’s viewpoint.

Steve Carter

Director, Contracts and Grants

Phone: (858) 534-4571
Email: stevecarter@ucsd.edu

SIO Contract and Grant Office staff assignments

Office of Contract and Grant Administration

Staff Human Resources

SIO Administration Staff HR Office serves as the central entity for staff HR activity within Vice Chancellor Marine Sciences. It is a comprehensive unit, providing guidance and expertise on all facets of staff HR.

Amber Fehling

Director, Staff Human Resources

Phone: (858) 534-6836
Email: arfehling@ucsd.edu

Daisy Do

Staff HR Generalist

Phone: (858) 822-5329
Email: dtd001@ucsd.edu

 

Illustration Services

Blaize Mekinna

Phone: (858) 534-8501
Email: bmekinna@ucsd.edu

Information Technology

Jerry Wanetick

Director, Information Technology

Phone: (858) 534-7999
Email: jwanetick@ucsd.edu

Desktop and User Support

Phone: (858) 534-8484
Email: siohelp@sio.ucsd.edu

Web Office

Lucina Mays

Manager, Web Operations

Phone: (858) 534-1701
Email: webmaster@sio.ucsd.edu

Network Support

Karin Fong

Network Manager

Phone: (858) 534-8484
Email: siohelp@sio.ucsd.edu

Data Center and CoLo

Jerry Wanetick

Director, Information Technology

Phone: (858) 534-7999
Email: jwanetick@ucsd.edu

Administrative Database Services

Luis Avila

Manager, Administrative Database Services

Phone: (858) 534-5600
Email: lavila@ucsd.edu