Coronavirus Information for the UC San Diego Community

Our leaders are working closely with federal and state officials to ensure your ongoing safety at the university. Stay up to date with the latest developments. Learn more.

Diving Control Board

M. Dale Stokes, PhD (Chair)
Research Oceanography, Marine Physical Laboratory
Phone: (858) 822-2608
Email: dstokes@ucsd.edu

William Gerwick, PhD
Professor, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Phone: (858) 534-0578
Email: wgerwick@ucsd.edu

Paul Jensen, PhD
Research Microbiologist, Center of Marine Biotechnology and Biomedicine
Phone: (858) 534-7322
Email: pjensen@ucsd.edu

Mike Kirk
Senior Development Engineer, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 534-6729
Email: mkirk@ucsd.edu

James Leicther, PhD
Associate Professor, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 822-5330
Email: jleichter@ucsd.edu

Leslee Matsushige
Acting Aquarium Curator, Birch Aquarium at Scripps
Phone: (858) 534-4099
Email: lmatsushige@ucsd.edu

Christian McDonald
Scientific Diving Safety Officer, SIO Director’s Office
Phone: (858) 534-2002
Email: cmcdonald@ucsd.edu

Tadeusz Molinski, PhD
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Phone: (858) 534-7115
Email: tmolinski@ucsd.edu

Kristin Riser
Staff Research Associate, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 534-2059
Email: kriser@ucsd.edu

Stuart Sandin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Marine Biology Research Division
Phone: (858) 534-4150
Email: ssandin@ucsd.edu

Woody Sutherland
Manager, Shipboard Technical Support
Phone: (858) 534-4425
Email: wosutherland@ucsd.edu

Christina Frieder
Graduate Student, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: N/A
Email: ctanner@ucsd.edu

Rich Walsh
Assistant Diving Safety Officer/Diving Locker Supervisor, SIO Director’s Office
Phone: (858) 534-6979
Email: rwalsh@ucsd.edu

Phil Zerofski
Marine Technician/Collector, Marine Biological Research Division
Phone: (858) 534-4777
Email: pzerofski@ucsd.edu

Consultants:

Paul Dayton, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 534-6740
Email: pdayton@ucsd.edu

Ron McConnaughey
Marine Technician/Collector (Retired), Marine Biological Research Division

Jon Schmidt
Risk Manager, UCSD Environmental Health & Safety
Phone: (858) 534-3792
Email: jschmidt@ucsd.edu

James Stewart
Chief Diving Officer Emeritus, SIO Director’s Office

Karen Van Hoesen, MD
Clinical Physician/Director, UCSD Diving Medicine
Phone: (619) 543-6463
Email: kvanhoesen@ucsd.edu

Brenda Wong
Biosafety Officer, UCSD Environmental Health & Safety
Phone: (858) 534-6059
Email: bwong@ucsd.edu