Coronavirus Information for the UC San Diego Community

Our leaders are working closely with federal and state officials to ensure your ongoing safety at the university. Stay up to date with the latest developments. Learn more.

Diving Control Board

M. Dale Stokes, PhD (Chair)
Research Oceanography, Marine Physical Laboratory
Phone: (858) 822-2608
Email: dstokes@ucsd.edu

Kayla Blincow
Graduate Student, Marine Biology Research Division
Phone: N/A
Email: kblincow@ucsd.edu​

William Gerwick, PhD
Professor, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Phone: (858) 534-0578
Email: wgerwick@ucsd.edu

Paul Jensen, PhD
Research Microbiologist, Center of Marine Biotechnology and Biomedicine
Phone: (858) 534-7322
Email: pjensen@ucsd.edu

Michael Lang
Asst Adjunct Professor, Emergency Medicine
Phone: (619) 302-3080
Email: m4lang@ucsd.edu

James Leichter, PhD
Associate Professor, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 822-5330
Email: jleichter@ucsd.edu

Christian McDonald
Scientific Diving Safety Officer, SIO Director’s Office
Phone: (858) 534-2002
Email: cmcdonald@ucsd.edu

Edith Mitchell
Risk Management Manager
Phone: (858) 232-6122
Email: @ucsd.edu

Jennifer Moffatt
Director/Husbandry, Birch Aquarium
Phone: (858) 246-1792
Email: jmoffatt@ucsd.edu

Kristin Riser
Staff Research Associate, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 534-2059
Email: kriser@ucsd.edu

Isabel Rivera-Collazo
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Phone: (858) 534-2059
Email: kriser@ucsd.edu

Karen Van Hoesen, MD
Clinical Physician/Director, UCSD Diving Medicine
Phone: (619) 543-6463
Email: kvanhoesen@ucsd.edu

Rich Walsh
Assistant Diving Safety Officer/Diving Locker Supervisor, SIO Director’s Office
Phone: (858) 534-6979
Email: rwalsh@ucsd.edu

Phil Zerofski
Marine Technician/Collector, Marine Biology Research Division
Phone: (858) 534-4777
Email: pzerofski@ucsd.edu

Brian Zgliczynski
Postdoctoral Researcher, Marine Biology Research Division
Phone: (858) 534-8783
Email: bzgliczynski@ucsd.edu

Consultants:

Paul Dayton, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Integrative Oceanography Division
Phone: (858) 534-6740
Email: pdayton@ucsd.edu

Mike Kirk
Senior Engineer, Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics
Phone: N/A
Email: mkirk@ucsd.edu

Ted Molinski
Professor, UCSD Chemistry/Biochemistry
Phone: (858) 822-6971
Email: tmolinski@ucsd.edu