August 7, 2020

## **TO:** MARINE OPERATIONS COMMITTEE 2020-2021

Mark Zumberge (Chair) Matthias Lankhorst

Matthew Alford Gabi Laske Kathy Barbeau Luc Lenain James Behrens Drew Lucas Jeff Bowman Robert Pinkel Teri Chereskin Kathleen Ritzman Matthew Dzieciuch David Sandwell Ralf Goericke Uwe Send Joel Hazard Janet Sprintall William Hodgkiss Brian Woodward

Michael Landry

Ex officio: Bruce Appelgate, Lee Ellett, Zoltan Kelety, Phoebe Lam (UCSC), Christian McDonald

David Valentine (UCSB)

Consultant: Hannah Delapp, Karen Stocks Student: Julia Chavarry, Caroline Lowcher

On the recommendation of the SIO Staff Council and its Committee on Committees, this is to request that you serve on the Marine Operations Committee for the academic year 2020-2021, **effective September 1**, **2020.** 

Article X of the SIO Staff Council By-Laws specifies the following role for the Committee:

This committee recommends to the Director, SIO, policy concerning all facets of marine operations dealing with ships, platforms, Nimitz Marine Facility, and marine technical groups. Specific tasks can include, but are not limited to acquisition, utilization, upkeep and disposal of ships and ships' equipment, ship scheduling, matters related to safety aboard SIO ships and the distribution of UC ship funds.

Per the Staff Council By-Laws (VII, 5), "Each Staff Council committee shall present an annual written report to the Council including a summary of its work during the past year. These reports shall be submitted to the Committee on Committees yearly in October and posted on the Staff Council Web page." Please note that your committee report will be due in the Director's Office on October 1, 2021.

I will assume you are willing to serve unless I hear from you to the contrary August 17, 2020.

Margaret Leinen

Director