Scripps Oceanography and the Nierenberg Family Honor Dr. Daniel Pauly

Dr. Daniel Pauly awarded the 2012 Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest

Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego and the William Nierenberg Family are proud to announce a free public lecture by the recipient of the 2012 Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest, Dr. Daniel Pauly, on Wednesday, May 9, at 7 pm in the Great Hall of the International House on the UC San Diego campus.

Pauly, principal investigator at the Sea Around Us Project based at the Fisheries Centre, University of British Columbia, has been a leader in conceptualizing and codeveloping software that is used by ocean experts throughout the world. Advancing the case for setting up marine reserves so that fisheries can make a comeback, the outspoken and often controversial critic of modern fishing practices has suggested that marine fishers will leave little but jellyfish or plankton for future generations to eat.

After the short award presentation, Dr Pauly will give a talk entitled, "Jellyfish Burgers, or How We Changed the Oceans and They Changed Us."

Although the lecture is free and open to the public, seating and parking are limited; reservations are required. For more information please call, 858-534-5607.

The Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest is awarded annually by Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. The Nierenberg Prize is named for William A. Nierenberg (1919-2000), a renowned national science leader who served Scripps Oceanography as director from 1965 to 1986. He was a leading expert in several fields of underwater research and warfare, and was known for his work in low-energy nuclear physics. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1971 and was the recipient of numerous awards and honors for professional research and public service.

The Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest was created through a gift from the Nierenberg family to honor the memory of William A. Nierenberg. The prize, which includes a bronze medal and $25,000, is awarded each year for outstanding contributions to science in the public interest.

Past winners are:

2010 Ira Flatow
2009 Richard Dawkins
2008 James E. Hansen
2007 J. Craig Venter
2006 Gordon E. Moore, Ph.D.
2005 Sir David Attenborough, OM (Order of Merit)
2004 Dame Jane Goodall
2003 Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D.
2002 Walter Cronkite
2001 E.O. Wilson, Ph.D.

About Scripps Oceanography

Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the University of California San Diego is one of the world’s most important centers for global earth science research and education. In its second century of discovery, Scripps scientists work to understand and protect the planet, and investigate our oceans, Earth, and atmosphere to find solutions to our greatest environmental challenges. Scripps offers unparalleled education and training for the next generation of scientific and environmental leaders through its undergraduate, master’s and doctoral programs. The institution also operates a fleet of four oceanographic research vessels, and is home to Birch Aquarium at Scripps, the public exploration center that welcomes 500,000 visitors each year.

About UC San Diego

At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at

Sign Up For
Explorations Now

explorations now is the free award-winning digital science magazine from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Join subscribers from around the world and keep up on our cutting-edge research.