Contact Us

Scripps Department Office

 

Scripps Department Office

Due to COVID-19, the Scripps Department Office will continue to conduct business virtually. Our physical office space will remain closed until further notice. If you need to reach us, please contact us by email.

back to top

Graduate Program


For general graduate program questions and admissions information, please contact the department by email at siodept@sio.ucsd.edu.  

 

Graduate Program Contacts

Gilbert Bretado, Lead Graduate Student Affairs Advisor
858-534-1694, gbretado@ucsd.edu
Ph.D. and MS advising, doctoral committees, qualifying exam, advancement to candidacy and defenses, departmental exams, new student orientation, recruitment and outreach, diversity coordinator, leave of absence, withdrawal, and re-admissions

Dana Jimenez, MS Graduate Student Affairs Advisor
858-534-9967, dljimenez@ucsd.edu 
MS and BS/MS advising, thesis committees, Master's advancement to candidacy and thesis defenses, recruitment, outreach, admissions. Ph.D program support, new student orientation and recruiting events.

Tim DeBold, Instructional Scheduling Coordinator
858-822-4223, tdebold@ucsd.edu
Course scheduling, course evaluations, course approvals, educational facility access and maintenance requests, Surfside reservations, course reserves, website updates, data/statistics requests.

TBD, MAS Program Coordinator
858-822-2886,
Admissions, capstone committees and symposium, data and statistic requests, people database updates, leave of absence, withdrawal, re-admission, half-time study, new student orientation and recruitment events, degree paperwork and student files, website and email listserv updates 

Christina Mendez, Assistant Academic HR Analyst
858-534-3206, cgm009@ucsd.edu
Room reservations, equipment check out, library book/course reserves assistance, mail distribution. Provides broad administrative support for academic personnel reviews, appointments, recruitments, and conflict of commitment compliance.

Josh Reeves, Student Affairs Manager
858-822-4559, jdreeves@ucsd.edu
Program administration and oversight of the student services: including both undergraduate and graduate advising services, instructional services, admission and recruitment, and teaching assistantships

Shelley Weisel, Graduate Student Financial Support
858-534-1695, sweisel@ucsd.edu
Graduate student financial support: fellowships, scholarships, traineeships, employment, bridge funding requests, grad student income verification, international student visa matters, exceptions to policy

Maureen McGreevy, Financial Analyst
858-534-3207, mpmcgreevy@ucsd.edu
Financial administrator: student travel and seminar reimbursement, purchase orders,

Leslie Costi, Academic Personnel Analyst
858-534-8752, lcosti@ucsd.edu
Staff HR for the SIO Department, faculty recruitment, academic personnel files (lecturers)

Anita Wu, Academic Personnel Analyst
858-822-1866, ayw001@ucsd.edu 
Academic personnel files and appointments, faculty PPS entries, and assistant to the Department Chair

Denise Darling, Department Manager
858-534-4794, ddarling@ucsd.edu

back to top

Department Chair and Program Directors

Dr. Sarah Gille, Chair
858-822-4425, sgille@ucsd.edu

Dr. Lihini Aluwihare, Vice Chair
858-822-4886, laluwihare@ucsd.edu

Dr. Lisa Adams, Associate Chair
858-822-4635, lgadams@ucsd.edu

Dr. Peter Franks, Program Director, Scripps Department Education
858-534-3183, pjfranks@ucsd.edu

Dr. Falk Feddersen, Program Director, Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)
858-534-4345, ffeddersen@ucsd.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Gee, Program Director, Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)
858-534-4707, jsgee@ucsd.edu

Dr. Ryan Hechinger, Program Director, Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)
858-822-3778, rhechinger@ucsd.edu

back to top

Scripps Ombuds Contacts

Dr. Paul Jensen, Ombudsperson
858-534-7322, pjensen@ucsd.edu

Dr. Jennifer MacKinnon, Ombudsperson
858-822-3716, jmackinnon@ucsd.edu

back to top

Curricular Group Coordinators

Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)

Applied Ocean Science - Dr. John Hildebrand
858-534-4069, jahildebrand@ucsd.edu

Climate Sciences - Dr. Shang-Ping Xie
858-822-0053 sxie@ucsd.edu

Physical Oceanography - Dr. Lynne Talley
858-534-6610, ltalley@ucsd.edu

Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)

Geophysics - Dr. Cathy Constable
858-534-3183, cconstable@ucsd.edu

Geosciences - Dr. Richard Norris
858-822-1868, rnorris@ucsd.edu

Marine Chemistry and Geochemistry - Dr. Todd Martz
858-534-7466, trmartz@ucsd.edu

Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)

Biological Oceanography - Dr. Andrew Allen
858-534-3544, aallen@ucsd.edu

Marine Biology - Dr. Eric Allen
858-534-2570, eallen@ucsd.edu

Graduate Admissions Chairs

Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)

Applied Ocean Science - Dr. John Hildebrand
858-534-4069, jahildebrand@ucsd.edu

Climate Sciences - Dr. Lynn Russell
858-534-4852, lmrussell@ucsd.edu

Physical Oceanography - Dr. Fiamma Straneo
858-534-4345, fstraneo@ucsd.edu

Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)

Geophysics - Dr. Wenyuan Fan and Dr. Ross Parnell-Turner
wenyuanfan@ucsd.edu, and 858-822-2975, rparnellturner@ucsd.edu

Geosciences - Dr. Richard Norris
858-822-1868, rnorris@ucsd.edu

Marine Chemistry and Geochemistry - Dr. Julia Diaz
858-246-5364, j2diaz@ucsd.edu

Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)

Biological Oceanography - Dr. Simone Baumann-Pickering
858-534-7280, sbaumann@ucsd.edu 

Marine Biology - Dr. Jack Gilbert and Dr. Jennifer Smith
jagilbert@ucsd.edu, and jes013@ucsd.edu, 858-246-0803

back to top

Undergraduate Program


For general program questions, please contact the Undergraduate office at 858-822-4604.  The Undergraduate Office is located on the Revelle College campus at UC San Diego, in Galbraith Hall (mail code 0328).  For information on admissions, please visit UC San Diego Admissions.

 

Undergraduate Program Contacts

Please note that all academic advising questions (for current students) are now handled via the Virtual Advisor.

Sid Eads, Student Affairs Officer
858-822-4604, sleads@ucsd.edu
Student services, undergraduate advising, and general program administration. Maintains student records and provides administrative support for courses.

Karla Vega, Student Affairs Officer
858-534-8157, k3vega@ucsd.edu
Student services, undergraduate advising, and general program administration. Maintains student records and provides administrative support for courses.

Josh Reeves, Student Affairs Manager
858-822-4559, jdreeves@ucsd.edu
Program administration and student services, teaching assistantships

Dr. Jane Teranes, Faculty Director, Environmental Systems Program
858-822-2099, jteranes@ucsd.edu
Teaching Faculty, program curriculum and student advising

 

back to top

Master of AdvanceD Studies (MAS) Program Contacts

For general graduate program questions and admissions information, please contact the department. 

Marine Biodiversity and Conservation Department contacts

Climate Science and Policy Department contacts

back to top