Contact Us

Scripps Department Office

 

Scripps Department Office

The Scripps Department Office is located on the second floor of the Old Scripps Building.
Office hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00am -12:00pm and 1:00pm - 4:30pm

Mailing address:
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, Mail Code 0208
La Jolla, CA 92093-0208

If you are using a secondary courier (UPS or FedEx deliveries):
Old Scripps Building, Room 22
8630 Kennel Way
La Jolla, CA 92037

If you are looking for Scripps using an internet mapping guide:
8630 Discovery Way
La Jolla, CA 92037

back to top


Graduate Program


For general graduate program questions and admissions information, please contact the department by phone at 858-822-4223, or by email at siodept@sio.ucsd.edu.

 

Graduate Program Contacts

Gilbert Bretado, Graduate Student Affairs Advisor

858-534-1694, gbretado@ucsd.edu
Ph.D. advising, doctoral committees, advancement to candidacy and defenses, orientation, recruitment and outreach, diversity coordinator

Jessica González, Graduate Student Affairs Coordinator
858-534-3206, jessicagonzalez@ucsd.edu
Admissions, Course scheduling, room reservations, grades, enrollment, petitions, verification letters, career services and alumni relations liaison

Maureen McCormack, Graduate Student Financial Support
858-534-1695, m1mccormack@ucsd.edu
Graduate student financial support: fellowships, scholarships, traineeships, employment, financial planning, financial aid coordination and advising

Maureen McGreevy, Financial Affairs
858-534-3207, mpmcgreevy@ucsd.edu
Financial administrator: student travel and seminar reimbursement, purchase orders, faculty start-up funds

Leslie Costi, Academic Personnel Specialist
858-534-8752, lcosti@ucsd.edu
Staff HR for the SIO Department, faculty recruitment, academic personnel files (lecturers)

Denise Darling, Department Manager
858-534-4794, ddarling@ucsd.edu

back to top


Department Chair and Program Directors

Dr. Brian Palenik, Chair and Deputy Director for Education
858-534-7505, bpalenik@ucsd.edu

Dr. Lisa Tauxe, Program Director, Scripps Department Education
858-534-6084, ltauxe@ucsd.edu

Dr. Cathy Constable, Vice Chair and Program Director, Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)
858-534-3183, cconstable@ucsd.edu 

Dr. Daniel Rudnick, Program Director, Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)
858-822-2483, drudnick@ucsd.edu

Dr. Greg Rouse, Program Director, Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)
858-534-7973, grouse@ucsd.edu

Dr. Jane Teranes, Program Director, Undergraduate Education
858-822-2099, jteranes@ucsd.edu

back to top


Scripps Ombuds Contacts

Dr. Peter Franks, Ombudsperson
858-534-7528, pjfranks@ucsd.edu

Dr. Lynne Talley, Ombudsperson
858-534-6610, ltalley@ucsd.edu

back to top


Graduate Admissions Chairs

Climate-Ocean-Atmosphere Program (COAP)

Applied Ocean Science - Dr. Dariusz Stramski
858-534-3353, dstramski@ucsd.edu

Climate Sciences - Dr. Shang-Ping Xie
858-822-0053, sxie@ucsd.edu

Physical Oceanography - Dr. Falk Feddersen
858-534-4345, ffeddersen@ucsd.edu

Geosciences of the Earth, Oceans, and Planets (GEO)

Geophysics - Dr. Adrian Borsa
858-534-6895, aborsa@ucsd.edu 

Geosciences - Dr. Paterno Castillo
858-534-0383, pcastillo@ucsd.edu

Marine Chemistry and Geochemistry - Dr. Andrew Dickson and Dr. Andreas Andersson
858-822-2990, adickson@ucsd.edu and 858-822-2486, aandersson@ucsd.edu

Ocean Biosciences Program (OBP)

Biological Oceanography - Dr. Michael Landry and Dr. James Leichter
858-534-4702, mlandry@ucsd.edu and 858-822-5330, jleichter@ucsd.edu

Marine Biology - Dr. Jennifer Taylor
858-822-4712, j3taylor@ucsd.edu

back to top


Undergraduate Program


For general program questions, please contact the Undergraduate office at 858-822-4604.  The Undergraduate Office is located on the Revelle College campus at UC San Diego, in Galbraith Hall (mail code 0328).  For information on admissions, please visit UC San Diego Admissions.

 

Undergraduate Program Contacts

Please note that all academic advising questions (for current students) are now handled via the Virtual Advisor.

Dr. Jane Teranes, Program Director, Undergraduate Education
858-822-2099, jteranes@ucsd.edu
Teaching Faculty, program curriculum and student advising

Dr. Cathy Constable, Director of Earth Science Majors
​858-534-3183, cconstable@ucsd.edu 

Dr. Brian Palenik, Director of Marine Biology Majors
858-534-7505, bpalenik@ucsd.edu

Josh Reeves, Administrative Director
858-534-8157, jdreeves@ucsd.edu
Program administration and student services, teaching assistantships

Sidney Eads, Student Affairs Officer
858-822-4604, sleads@ucsd.edu
Student services and assisting in program administration, maintains student records, administrative support for courses, and student advising

back to top