Coronavirus Information for the UC San Diego Community

Our leaders are working closely with federal and state officials to ensure your ongoing safety at the university. Stay up to date with the latest developments. Learn more.

Earth Sciences (Minor)

A minor in Earth Sciences consists of twenty-eight units of earth sciences courses, at least twenty of which must be upper-division, focused on geology, geochemistry, or geophysics.

A maximum of two courses for the minor may be taken on a Pass/Not Pass basis if the student's college permits.

Students interested in the Earth Sciences minor should meet with the SIO academic advising staff to discuss their curriculum choices. 

Please note that all academic advising questions (for current students) are now handled via the Virtual Advisor.