Scripps Oceanography Announces New Program Directors


Tony Haymet, director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego, announced today four new "program directors" for the Department at Scripps Institution of Oceanography. These positions are integral in assisting incoming Department Chair Doug Bartlett in enhancing our overall education endeavors.

Mike Landry has been commended for serving as vice chair of the Department for the past three years. Landry has provided invaluable service to Scripps education on all levels and is now returning to his active research projects and sea-going activities.

The four new program directors appointments are:
Phil Hastings
Myrl Hendershott
T. Guy Masters
Jeff Severinghaus

All four will continue in their current research positions, in addition to taking on these added responsibilities of serving Scripps' overall education efforts.

Through the Scripps section structure, Hastings, Masters, and Severinghaus will focus on undergraduate and graduate teaching as Scripps continues its proactive advancement in cross-institutional education programs. Lisa Tauxe will remain as the Earth sciences undergraduate director. Hendershott will assist with academic personnel files and coordinate transition issues.

Sign Up For
Explorations Now

explorations now is the free award-winning digital science magazine from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Join subscribers from around the world and keep up on our cutting-edge research.