Tony Haymet Selected as New Member of the Consortium of Ocean Leadership Board of Trustees


The Consortium for Ocean Leadership appointed Tony Haymet, director of Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego and vice chancellor of marine sciences, as a member of the Board of Trustees.  He will serve a three-year term.

Ocean Leadership is a Washington, D.C.-based nonprofit organization that represents 95 of the leading public and private ocean research education institutions, aquaria and industry with the mission to advance research, education and sound ocean policy. The organization also manages ocean research and education programs in areas of scientific ocean drilling, ocean observing, ocean exploration, and ocean partnerships.

"Tony Haymet is a leader in the oceanographic community and we are extremely pleased that he will serve on the Consortium for Ocean Leadership Board to help shape the direction of our new organization," said Bob Gagosian, President and CEO of Ocean Leadership.

At the 2008 annual meeting Ocean Leadership Board members selected Haymet as an Inside Trustee based upon his strong leadership and highly distinguished career in higher education and interdisciplinary oceanographic research. They sought to balance institutional size and geographic location when selecting the newest members to the board.

Haymet leads one of the oldest, largest, and most important centers for global ocean and earth science research and graduate training in the world. Now in its second century of discovery, the scientific scope of the institution has grown to include major studies of the earth as a system.

Ocean Leadership was formed in 2007 from the merger of the Consortium for Oceanographic Research and Education (CORE) and the Joint Oceanographic Institutions (JOI). In December 2007 Gagosian was named president and CEO.

The Honorable Leon Panetta, Dr. Robert Corell and Mr. Frank Cushing were sworn in as At-Large Members of the Board. Dr. Susan K. Avery, president and director of Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; Dr. Nancy Rabalais, executive director of the DeFelice Marine Center and Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium (LUMCON); and Dr. James G. Sanders, director and professor of Skidaway Institute of Oceanography were also sworn in as members of the Board of Trustees.

Sign Up For
Explorations Now

explorations now is the free award-winning digital science magazine from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Join subscribers from around the world and keep up on our cutting-edge research.