Scripps Administration

Scripps Administration oversees operations and administrative support for research and academic programs for all areas of Scripps Oceanography. 

Areas of support include administrative computing; business and finance; capital planning and space management; contracts and grants; diversity initiatives; facilities management; human resources; operations and safety; and web operations.

Image
patrick callaghan profile

Patrick Callaghan

Assistant Vice Chancellor - Marine Sciences
Director of Finance and Operations

Phone: (858) 534-2830
Email: pcallaghan@ucsd.edu
 

 

Susie Pike Humphrey

Assistant Deputy Director of Research & Finance

Phone: (858) 534-8655
Email: spike@ucsd.edu

 

Scripps Administration Office

Cindy McBurnett

Executive Assistant

Phone: (858) 534-2830
Email: cmcburnett@ucsd.edu

Business and Finance, VCMS Business Office

Overall responsibility for tracking and projecting the financial resources available to the Vice Chancellor, Marine Sciences (VCMS), as well as providing institution-wide reports, analyses, surveys, and documenting policies and memorandums of understanding for new processes impacting Scripps Oceanography's finances and personnel operations. In addition, oversees the financial administration of the SIO Director’s Office and serves as the financial resource for all Scripps Oceanography units/divisions.

Open
Director, Budget and Finance

Phone: (858) 534-2624
Email: 

Grace Wagner
Financial Manager

Phone: (858) 534-7238
Email: gwagner@ucsd.edu

Suzanne Sprague
Administrative Analyst

Phone: (858) 534-1117
Email: ssprague@ucsd.edu

Michelle Tellez
Financial Services Analyst

Phone: (858) 534-6427
Email: mvtellez@ucsd.edu

Andrea Perez
Financial Services Analyst

Phone: (858) 534-6986
Email: anp058@ucsd.edu

Facilities Operations and Planning

Institution-wide operations and management, planning and policy development, facilities, departmental safety and regulatory compliance.

Ken Hall
Director of Facilities Operations and Planning

Phone: (858) 822-1312
Email: khall@ucsd.edu

Terry Raitt
Sr. Operations Analyst

Phone: (858) 534-2831
Email: traitt@ucsd.edu

Capital Planning and Space Management

Responsible for the planning, coordination and execution of capital projects, from new buildings to major renovations of existing buildings to deferred maintenance. In addition to capital projects, we work with individual Scripps scientists to plan renovations to accommodate their research needs.

Space assignments and requests for space are managed in a fair and equitable manner, relative to Scripps Space Policy, in consultation with section heads, division chairs, business officers and individual staff.

Cammie Ingram
Director, Capital Planning and Space Management

Phone: (858) 534-2837
Email: cingram@ucsd.edu

Vikki Cutri
​Capital Planning/Space and Facilities Management Analyst

Phone: (858) 822-7562
Email: vcutri@ucsd.edu 

​Facilities Management

UC San Diego Facilities Management is responsible for the routine maintenance of campus buildings and grounds. The staff in SIO Facilities Management serve as liaisons to UC San Diego Facilities Management (FM), Environment, Health and Safety (EH&S), and Facilities, Design and Construction (FD&C). SIO Facilities also provides project oversight, as well as lends design and construction expertise to campus building renovations.

Non-urgent service: 
Online Work Request
Urgent Service: (858) 534-2930


For a full list of services provided by UC San Diego Facilities Management visit: Facilities Management

Dennis L. Brand
Facilities Manager

Phone: (858) 534-2730
Email: dlbrand@ucsd.edu 

Jose Hernandez
Facilities Management Specialist

Phone: (858) 246-3160  Cell: (858) 291-3616
Email: jlh001@ucsd.edu 

Marty Anderson
Facilities Assistant

Phone: (858) 568-4712
Email: martyanderson@ucsd.edu

Safety/Emergency Preparedness

John Semerau
Scripps Safety Officer
Phone: (858) 534-8449
Email: jsemerau@ucsd.edu

Safety at Scripps

Office of Contract and Grant Administration

The SIO Office of Contract and Grant Administration (SIO OCGA) serves as administrative liaison for activities related to SIO extramural funding, unfunded agreements, service contracts and collaborative agreements.

Frank Truong
Director of SIO Contracts and Grants Administration

Phone: (858) 534-7962
Email: ftruong@ucsd.edu

Contracts and Grants homepage

Staff Human Resources

SIO Administration Staff HR Office serves as the central entity for staff HR activity within Vice Chancellor Marine Sciences. It is a comprehensive unit, providing guidance and expertise on all facets of staff HR.

Amber Fehling

Director, Staff Human Resources

Phone: (858) 534-6836
Email: arfehling@ucsd.edu

Daisy Do

Staff HR Generalist

Phone: (858) 822-5329
Email: dtd001@ucsd.edu

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Keiara Auzenne
Director of Diversity Initiatives

Phone: (858) 822-4962
Email: kauzenne@ucsd.edu

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion home page

Information Technology

Ezra Van Everbroeck
Director, Scripps Information Technology

Phone: (858) 534-8239
Email: ezra@ucsd.edu

Desktop and User Support

Phone: (858) 534-8484
Email: siohelp@ucsd.edu

Scripps I.T. Services