Robert L. and Bettie P. Cody Award in Ocean Sciences

Robert L. and Bettie P. Cody
Robert L. and Bettie P. Cody

The Cody Award recognizes outstanding scientific achievement in oceanography, ocean biosciences, and earth science. It is presented by Scripps Institution of Oceanography to a scientist who has made significant contributions to his or her field of science specialty.

The Cody Award was established by an endowment from the late Robert Cody and his wife Bettie, and a substantial contribution from Capital Research & Management Company, in recognition of Mr. Cody's service to the Los Angeles-based firm. Robert Cody's affiliation with Scripps Oceanography dates back to his youth and his association with William E. Ritter, his great uncle and the founder and first director of Scripps.

When Ritter retired in the 1920s, young Robert Cody visited often and wrote, "I got to know Uncle Ritter best when, as a part of his study of the California woodpecker, I sometimes drove him on fields trips. Without a doubt, one of the most rewarding experiences of my life was the opportunity to know the Ritters, which accounts for my ongoing interest in Scripps."

The Cody Award, presented biennially by Scripps, consists of a gold medal and $15,000.


  • 2021 Laurie Reisberg, Université de Lorraine, Earth Sciences
  • 2019 Antje Boetius, Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Biology
  • 2016 Raffaele Ferrari, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Physical Oceanography
  • 2014 Douglas A. Wiens, Washington University, Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • 2012 Mark Hay, Georgia Institute of Technology, Biology
  • 2010 Dudley Chelton, Oregon State University, Physical Oceanography
  • 2007 Steve Cande, Columbia University, Geosciences
  • 2005 James Childress, University of California Santa Barbara, Biology
  • 2003 Mark Cane, Columbia Engineering, Climate Science
  • 2002 Maureen Raymo, Boston University, Earth Sciences
  • 1998 Bruce W. Frost, University of Washington, Biology
  • 1996 Kenneth H. Brink, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Physical Oceanography
  • 1994 Ken C. MacDonald, University of California Santa Barbara, Earth Sciences
  • 1992 Holger W. Jannasch, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Biology
  • 1989 George Veronis, Yale University, Physical Oceanography