Strategic Planning and Government Relations

The Office of Institutional Planning, Government Relations, Strategic Partnerships, and Events provides leadership and services to Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Through a variety of programs and activities, we facilitate extramural funding at the federal, state and local levels, promote strategic collaboration with external partners, and engage key external stakeholders and supporters. Program areas include institutional strategic planning, positioning, and partnerships; research analysis, reporting and recommendations; government, corporate and international relations; institutional events and venue management; and executive office administrative support.

Contact Us

Kathleen Ritzman
Assistant Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
(858) 534-4849
Fax: (858) 822-0690
kritzman@ucsd.edu

Kristin Methlagl, Government Relations and Strategic Planning
(858) 822-4034
kmethlagl@ucsd.edu

Chris Castillo, Government Relations and Strategic Planning
(858) 822-33370
cdcastillo@ucsd.edu

Donna Stout, Institutional Events and Venue Rentals
(858) 822-0723
dstout@ucsd.edu

Carrie Byrd, Planning and Director’s Administrative Staff
(858) 822-3062
cbyrd@ucsd.edu

Brandi Bangle, International Relations and Director’s Administrative Staff
(858) 534-2827
bbangle@ucsd.edu


Office mailing address
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0210

Physical address
8610 Kennel Way
La Jolla, CA 92037