International Collaborations
Photo credit: B. Jack Pan, graduate student in the Vernet Lab. Larsen C Expedition 2018

International Relations

International relations are vital to the advancement of Scripps Institution of Oceanography’s mission and daily efforts to better understand and protect the planet. Scripps Oceanography's research programs span the globe, and international partners play an important role in exploration and discovery of our ocean planet as well as in the creation of science-based solutions for global environmental challenges.

Our current international collaborations span over 40 countries and 90 institutions. These education and research partnerships catalyze innovation via the global circulation of people and ideas and facilitate the sharing and testing of new discoveries in a global context.

Contact Us

For general questions regarding international collaborations, please reach out to:

Brandi Bangle
International Relations Coordinator
Director's Office, International Relations
bbangle@ucsd.edu
858-534-2584

Kelly Swiech​
Project Policy Analyst 
International Relations
kswiech@ucsd.edu
858-822-6454

For help with international agreements, contact:

Andrea Lupu
Principal Contract and Grant Analyst
Office of Contracts and Grants Administration
alupu@ucsd.edu 
202-253-9603

 

Scripps Director Margaret Leinen addresses the importance of cooperation between Chile and the United States aboard R/V Marcus G. Langseth in Valparaiso, Chile
Scripps Director Margaret Leinen addresses the importance of cooperation between Chile and the United States aboard R/V Marcus G. Langseth in Valparaiso, Chile

Additional Resources

For additional help from UC San Diego's main campus, use these resources:

UCSD International Affairs Staff 

UCSD Study Abroad Staff

UCSD Global Education Staff

UCSD Export Control

SIO Contracts and Grants Staff

For additional questions regarding international travel or visits, contact section Chief Administrative Officers (CAOs):

Anna Bryson
CAO for Biology (CMBB, IOD, MBRD)
abryson@ucsd.edu
858-534-0530

Wayne Farquharson
CAO for Earth Sciences (GRD, IGPP)
wfarquharson@ucsd.edu
858-534-4552

Anne Footer
CAO for Oceans & Atmosphere (CASPO, MPL)
afooter@ucsd.edu
858-534-1802

 

sharknado